Author Topic: Displaying printed text through the debug cable  (Read 3489 times)

Algol

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Displaying printed text through the debug cable
« on: June 18, 2013, 04:19:37 PM »
Hi,

I've written a simple program just telling the kilobots to print to screen a string and a number, however when I connect the kilobot to the OHC, open RealTerm and run the program, only a series of random characters appears and not the string or number I told the kilobot to print.

The code is simply:

kstrings("My robot ID is:");
kstringi(12);

I've tried a different terminal program with the same results.

Am I making any errors here, or missing a step?

Thanks for your help,

Katie

nicobulla

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • nicobulla@gmail.com
Re: Displaying printed text through the debug cable
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2013, 11:24:32 PM »
you have to change some parameters in RealTerm:

Display= Ansi
Port-Baud=256000

--
I use the commands kprints and kprinti.

Nico

« Last Edit: June 18, 2013, 11:26:30 PM by nicobulla »

Algol

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Displaying printed text through the debug cable
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2013, 03:23:42 PM »
Thanks for the reply.

Apologies, I did mean kprints and kprinti, which I have used in my program, just a typo on here.

I've set the program to Ansi, but 256000 is not an option for the Baud Rate in my program. I set it to the closest, 230400, but still random symbols and not the message I asked it to print.

Are there other settings to change in RealTerm other than those directly in the interface, or anything else I could try?

nicobulla

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • nicobulla@gmail.com
Re: Displaying printed text through the debug cable
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2013, 03:58:33 PM »
You can write the Baud Rate, in my program I can't select, but I can write it.

kteam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: +7/-1
Re: Displaying printed text through the debug cable
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2013, 08:52:21 AM »
Dear Algol,

as nicobulla said,

in RealTerm, in the Baud rate edit box, you can actually write any baud rate,
as the status bar information and the tiptool displayed when you let your mouse onto the edit box:
"Most PC com ports support random baud rates, however not all baud rates are possible. Different devices have different capabilities."

Best regards,
K-TEAM